Rathkeale College is an integrated day and boarding school for boys from Years 9 to 13. Established in 1963, it is located in a magnificent park-like setting. With superb sports grounds and facilities, Rathkeale provides an outstanding learning and living environment for young men.

From the outset, the college’s location and natural environment has dictated a special college atmosphere. This has led to the creation of unique facilities such as the outdoor Greek Theatre and a number of buildings, including sports pavilions, which have largely been built by the boys.

The college is affiliated to the Anglican Church and maintains a range of traditional features including high academic expectations, compulsory sport, and an emphasis on a holistic education. Physical well-being is an integral part of a Rathkeale student’s education. All boys are required to participate in summer and winter sport.

The Rathkeale / St Matthew’s Senior College, located on the Rathkeale campus, blends around 250 senior students from both St Matthew’s and Rathkeale in a co-educational environment. It makes an important contribution to the preparation of the students for life beyond the college gate.

Rathkeale celebrated its 50th Jubilee in March 2014.

Rugby at Rathkeale is supported by the Rathkeale College Rugby Club www.rcrc.org.nz

"The Rathkeale College Rugby Club (RCRC) aims to promote and develop rugby at Rathkeale College by encouraging and providing support to all players, administrators, coaches and associated people involved to ensure that rugby at Rathkeale is enjoyed at a level of excellence by all."

Please visit the website for more information.

Rathkeale College will field five rugby teams in the 2018 season.

  • 1st XV - CNI
  • Development Team - CNI
  • 2nd XV - Wairarapa Bush Secondary Schools Competition (mid-week)
  • Junior Teams x 2 - Wairarapa Bush under 15yrs Competition
  • A Colts XV will be selected to play traditional fixtures and the annual Lindisfarne Colts Tournament.
  • We will also have a junior team competing in a mid-week local competition.

Schools involved in the Wairarapa Bush competitions consist of Rathkeale College, Wairarapa College, Chanel College, Makoura College and Kuranui College.

Rathkeale College traditional fixtures:

  • St Patrick’s College (Wellington)
  • Hutt International Boys’ School
  • Christ’s College
  • Wanganui Collegiate School
  • Lindisfarne College
  • Wairarapa College
  • Central Hawkes Bay College

Deon van Deventer Head of Rugby

Deon is responsible for rugby at Rathkeale. He has an extensive history of playing and coaching both in New Zealand and South Africa.

Jonathan Tanner Coach 1st XV

Jonathan has an impressive playing history including the Wellington Lions 96/97. This is his second season coaching the Rathkeale 1st XV. He has also been involved with Judicial Hearings with NZR, NZ National Sevens and Wellington IRB Sevens.

Charlie Matthews Coach 1st XV

Kieran Herlihy Coach 1st XV

Glenn McIntosh Manager 1st XV

Leif Hansen Coach 2nd XV

Colin Green Coach 2nd XV

1st & 2nd XV Squad 2018

  • Caleb BARON
  • Joseph BEVERIDGE
  • Felix BLUNDELL
  • Cameron CLATWORTHY
  • Mitch COCKBURN
  • Freddie ESCHENBACH
  • Brock FRIEND
  • Lewai GILBERT
  • George HARGOOD
  • Caedman HAWKINS
  • Kobe HERBERT
  • Alfie HILL
  • Cooper JAMIESON
  • Hamish KAYE
  • Marcus LAING
  • Oscar LAU YOUNG
  • Jackson MAGAUTAI
  • Elijah MAPUSUA
  • Wynter MCCOOK WEIR
  • Harry MCKAY
  • Josh OLSEN
  • Ky PHAM
  • Joe QUINN
  • Thomas RALLS
  • Quinn RIDDELL
  • Jayden SAVEA
  • William TANNER
  • George TANNER
  • Josh WARREN
  • Jayden WEBB MILNER
  • Henry WILLIAMS
  • Archie WOODHOUSE
  • Jackson WOODHOUSE
  • Jayden YANKO

Please check back later.

  • Wairarapa Bush Rugby – Kurt Simmons (captain – 2012-), Wilbur Davies (2008-2014), Brock Price (2015)
  • Former ITM Cup Squad – Tom Broughton (Canterbury 2010)
  • NZ Schools’ teams – James O’Rourke (1988), Malcolm Holmes (captain – 1982), Albert Hawea (1978 & 1981), Paul Goodwin (1982), Paul Renton (1980),
  • NZ Schools Barbarians – Sam Tufuga Piopa (2014)
  • NZ Colts – Grant White (1986), Paul Goodwin (1986), Paul Renton (1983), Bruce Robertson (1978)
  • NZ Under 17 – James O’Rourke (1987)
  • Hurricanes Schools/U18’s – Matt Dally (2007)
  • Hurricanes Schools/U16's – Ueta Tufuga Piopa (2014), Finn Yeats (2014)

217 Willow Park Drive
Masterton 5871

+64 6 370 0175
+64 6 377 9020
[email protected]

1st XV Manager
Glenn McIntosh
[email protected]
027 274 6686


Lost 0-27v Feilding High School
Won 22-3v St John’s College
Lost 3-10v Wanganui Collegiate School
Lost 21-39v St Paul’s Collegiate School
Won 42-10v Te Aute College
Won 28-8v St John’s College
Lost 9-15v Wesley College
Lost 0-74v St Peter’s School
Won 33-15v Lindisfarne College
Lost 10-51v Francis Douglas Memorial College


Won 39-0v Te Aute College
Lost 7-37v Wesley College
Lost 17-30v Wanganui Collegiate School
Lost 7-59v St Paul’s Collegiate School
Won 15-0v St John’s College
Lost 10-55v Feilding High School
Lost 7-83v Francis Douglas Memorial College
Lost 6-52v St Peter’s School
Lost 27-29v Lindisfarne College


Lost 12-35v St Peter’s School
Won 45-7v St John’s College
Lost 12-29v Wanganui Collegiate School
Lost 10-36v Francis Douglas Memorial College
Lost 7-56v Feilding High School
Lost 7-45v St Paul’s Collegiate School
Won 17-15v Lindisfarne College
Lost 0-59v Wesley College


Lost 3-41v Francis Douglas Memorial College
Lost 0-59v St Paul’s Collegiate School
Drew 21-21v Wanganui Collegiate School
Lost 0-31v Lindisfarne College
Lost 12-31v St Peter’s School
Drew 12-12v St John’s College
Lost 0-101v Feilding High School


Lost 0-73v Feilding High School
Lost 8-70v Francis Douglas Memorial College
Lost 15-19v Wanganui Collegiate School
Lost 17-53v St Paul’s Collegiate School
Won 25-5v St John’s College
Lost 8-22v Lindisfarne College


Lost 0-69v Feilding High School
Lost 12-38v St John’s College
Lost 7-50v Wanganui Collegiate School
Drew 0-0v St Paul’s Collegiate School
Won 0-0v Te Aute College
Lost 7-47v Wesley College
Lost 7-67v Lindisfarne College
Lost 27-29v Francis Douglas Memorial College